The CeFT®

Designation Information 

LEVEL-UP designation. 

Table of Contents: Who Can Sit For Certification / Two Parts of Program / Certification Exam / Exam Preparation

Who Can Sit For Certification

Only individuals who hold a Certified Financial Planner®, Certified Investment Management Analyst®, Certified Private Wealth Advisor®, Chartered Financial Analyst®, Chartered Financial Consultant®, Certified Divorce Financial Analyst®, or Certified Public Accountant/Personal Financial Specialist designation can sit for certification.


There are Two Parts to the Program



Complete FTI Training



Sit for Exam Prep & Pass

the Certification Exam

Certification Exam

The Certification Exam is currently held virtually, through a proctored, online platform. The exam evaluates the skill of the candidate in the application of Financial Transitionist® tools and protocols through role-playing/oral exams, written case essays, structured responses, and multiple-choice testing.

The Structure of the Exam:

Part Duration Type
1 90 minutes 90 Multiple-Choice Questions
2 90 minutes 15 Structured-Response Questions
3 90 minutes 4 Essay Questions

There is a 15-minute break between sections. The sections are weighted equally and 70 is the passing score. We are looking for participants to have learned the training materials and reached competence with using them as well as competence in explaining what they do, why they do it, and how it is unique.

Exam Preparation

Included in the cost of the exam ($690.00) is a study guide and 3 part online practice exam with answer keys. To sit for certification, candidates must: 

  • Adhere to the Code of Ethics for Financial Transitionists®.
  • Be in good standing with the governing board of their primary designation.
  • Complete the FTI Training either through the 12-month Core Training or all 3 Levels of Access Training.
  • Submit all Client Experiences, including the Written Case.
  • Demonstrate a base level of competency using the materials by actively participating in the Experience Calls.
  • Make use of two coaching calls.
  • Please note that all certificants are expected to read all materials from the course, including the coursebook. The abbreviated Study Guide is not adequate preparation for the exam.

Requirements for Maintaining CeFT® Designation:


FTI Learning: Training & Events